7 Seconds in Heaven with Stacey Ballis

Out to Lunch by Stacey BallisToday's guest: Stacey Ballis Why we love her: She writes delicious novels!

Her latest: Out to Lunch

The scoop: A touching and hilarious novel from the fabulous Stacey Ballis about best friends, true love, and the joy of food—for fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin...

Jenna has lost her best friend. With Aimee gone so tragically young, Jenna barely knows where to turn. Aimee was the one who always knew what to do—not to mention what to wear. The two built a catering company together and had so much in common—well, except their taste in men. Jenna never understood what the successful, sophisticated Aimee saw in Wayne, with his Star Wars obsession and harebrained business schemes.And gained her best friend’s husband… But Aimee has left a shocking last request: Jenna now has financial custody of the not-so-merry widower. True, Wayne needs someone sensible around to keep him under control, but what was her dear departed friend thinking?The thing is, as she gets to know Wayne better, his latest moneymaking idea actually starts to intrigue her. Her attractive new lawyer boyfriend doesn’t approve of it—but then, Wayne doesn’t approve of her attractive new lawyer boyfriend. Now Jenna has to figure out what direction her life is going to take next. And she can’t help asking herself: What would Aimee do?

Our thoughts: Our favorite of all seven of her novels! Yes, she's written seven!

Giveaway: TWO copies of Out to Lunch!   Just leave a comment to be entered to win. We'll select the winner on Sunday, December 15 after 12 PM PST.

Where you can read more about Stacey: Her website, Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter.


STACEY+BALLIS1.  I have two tattoos, and one of them was my mother’s idea and on her dime.   And no, you can’t see them.

2.  I once sprained both of my ankles at the exact same time.  Because I’m gifted like that.

3.  Despite being passionately in favor of gun control, when I was at camp I was a Ninth Bar Sharpshooter with a 22 caliber rifle, and just three targets shy of the Expert level before I realized it made me a member of the NRA, and I stopped shooting.  I’m still kind of good at a carnival tho.

4.  While you will most often find me listening to the 70s and 80s stations in the car, my favorite single piece of music is Dvorak’s Symphony for the New World.  It’s also my dad’s favorite.  We discovered the coincidence when I was in my 20s.

5.  I know all the words to Don McClean’s American Pie.  ALL OF THEM.

6.  I often keep my wallet and cell phone in my bra so I don’t have to carry a purse.

7.  I’m completely addicted to television procedurals of the legal, police, and spy variety.

Thanks, Stacey!